Posted on

15 hours for a 2 hour race.

The day started a day before. It was 8pm before we got on our way to Patterson CA or should I say Merced CA where we stayed. After getting most of my rest in a car a little cramped I knew I was in for the full traveling roadie experience. traveling is part of Cycling and it might just be my least favorite part. From the drive to the house we were saying at to the race the next day followed by the same trip back I would spend about 15 hours in a car but the race was going to be worth it.

The day begun at 5am when I got up to shower up before the race. After “getting ready” (shaving) we got in the car that I’m sure I might have left a permanent impression of my butt on the driver’s side back seat. We took off and away we… Slowly crawled there? FOG, FOG, FOGGING FOG. With visibility at 5 feet we couldn’t speed to the race but as luck would have it the race ran a little late.

What a beautiful place to race a bicycle.

The cat 5 group I was on was a friendly bunch for the most part. After the motorcycle lead us to the racing area we didn’t do anything. I mean we were going SLOW! I used the time to chat with everyone around me asking about the course and making a joke here and there. After a few brake checks we got the ball rolling around 15 miles in. I did my best to stay in the front knowing that I’m not the best climber. we started taking turns pulling and started to work.

As the climb got steep I knew I would not be able to lead anymore and just did my best to minimize the time I was going to lose. by the time we hit the cones signaling the turn around point I was around 15th/20th place. because I was expecting this I was not alarmed or in any kind of rush. I knew I would be able to catch up with the leaders on the descent and what a descent it was…

The downhill portion of the race helped me out a lot  but seemed to be a little too technical for most of the cat 5’s with me. I quickly began to pass up riders in hope of getting to the front.

Before I knew it I was in a 3 man breakaway with about half the course go. We took turns pulling and I gave it hell every pull. I was hoping that we could have picked up one more rider or two, even some wishful thinking, someone would bridge the gap and spark a movement. That was not the case. We gave it hell till about 2 miles left and my inexperience hurt me at the end when I was left with a choice to keep pulling or attack and go for it alone. In retrospect I wish I would have attacked. Even if my attack wouldn’t have stayed away i would have put a hurt on the field chasing me down and left me in a better position for the sprint.

The catch was sad for me I felt that I could have given it more, that maybe if I had another rider with me… I think we began to slow down towards the end but because I didn’t have a computer I was left to guess. Once we were absorbed into the peloton the riders with me found a spot in the front but I was forced even elbowed to the mid back of the front. The finish came and I didn’t even feel like I was sprinting I was riding hard but it was no sprint. With nowhere to go and so many in front I just played it as safe as I could.

I would end up with 6th place based on the post up at the race but now on-line it shows I got 7th, either way it’s not changing anything for me so I really don’t care about the result. The best part of the race was knowing I could be a factor in a race now all I have to do is work on my attack.

About ohmannuel

The fight to stay competitive in bicycle racing has more to do with my own personal battles than racing itself. This blog is here to help me document my daily fights.